Sarasota Bay Estuary Program Honors Blue Dolphin Award Recipients

Lee Fox holding her Blue Dolphin Award with Sara Kane with SBEP.
Lee Fox holding her Blue Dolphin Award with Sara Kane with SBEP.

The Sarasota Bay Estuary Program (SBEP) presented Blue Dolphin Awards to Sean Russell and Lee Fox Tuesday at a social hosted by the SBEP Citizens Advisory Committee. The annual Blue Dolphin Awards acknowledge local champions of Sarasota Bay.

Sean Russell currently attends the University of Florida. He has helped raise awareness about preventing marine debris and supporting ocean conservation through the Stow It Don’t Throw It Project, a nonprofit organization he formed. Sean also provides leadership to organize the annual Youth Ocean Conservation Summit held at Mote Marine Laboratory. Lee Fox has been a caregiver for sick and injured birds for more than 25 years. She helped to launch Save Our Seabirds in Sarasota and she currently rescues birds from a facility in Wimauma.

The other 2013 Blue Dolphin Award winners were Don and Denise Elliott of Anna Maria Island. The couple was acknowledged for creating a bay-friendly demonstration garden at Sunbow Bay Condo Development. SBEP provided Bay Partner Grants to support the multi-year project. 


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something