Sarasota Film Festival Announces Winners

"Ethel" wins audience award for Best Documentary Feature while jurors select "Big Boys Gone Bananas!" for best documentary feature.

The 2012 Sarasota Film Festival announced this year’s jury and audience award winners at the historic in downtown Sarasota. 

Elena directed by Andrei Zvyagintsev took home this year’s Narrative Feature Jury prize. Big Boys Gone Bananas!* by director Fredrik Gertten was the Documentary Jury Prize winner.

Two special jury prizes were awarded; in the Narrative category Alps directed by Giorgos Lanthimos took home a Special Jury Prize and for documentary Feature Competition special jury prize for Radio Unnameabledirected by Paul Lovelace

The festival’s juried award for Independent Vision went to The Unspeakable Act, directed by Dan Sallitt.  

 Two special jury prizes were awarded, one to Richard’s Wedding director Onur Tukel for screenplay and a performance award to Shanon Harper and Welcome to Pine Hill.

This year’s Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature was Missed Connections

Director, Martin Snyder.

The Audience Award for Best Documentary is presented to 

The Best In World Cinema Audience Award went toPolisse

Director, Maiwenn and Best Short Film went to Tick Tock Time Emporium

Director, Morgan Faust. 

Three youthFEST awards were also handed out.  The junior jury award for best family short film went toPrivate Eyes director, Nicoles Lemay.  The audience award for Best Family Short Film went to Marco Gianfreda’s  Pizzangrillo and the young filmmakers digital showcase award went to CHIPS, director Gabriela Capestany.

“This year we invited our audience and partners to see things differently.” says President of the Sarasota Film Festival Mark Famiglio. Our films and events continue to educate and engage.  SFF has worked hard to create a national stage for films and filmmakers to come and share their vision. As the leading film festival in the Southeast we are looking forward to our 15th year.”

“We are so proud of all our filmmakers and films,” said Festival Director Tom Hall. “The goal of our festival is to connect the world of cinema with our community and this year’s film program is testament to the power of movies to inspire and move us.” 

Congratulations to the winners 2012 of The Sarasota Film Festival Awards:

Narrative Feature Competition Winner

Director, Andrei Zvyagintsev


Narrative Feature Competition  

Special Jury Prize for Creative Achievement


Director, Giorgos Lanthimos


Documentary Feature Competition 
Big Boys Gone Bananas!*

Director, Fredrik Gertten


Documentary Feature Competition

Special Jury Prize

Radio Unnameable

Director, Paul Lovelace

Audience Awards

Best Documentary Feature


Directors, Rory Kennedy


Audience Award 

Best Short Film

Tick Tock Time Emporium

Director, Morgan Faust

Audience Award 

Best Narrative Feature

Missed Connections

Director, Martin Snyder


Audience Award

Best In World Cinema


Director, Maiwenn


Independent Vision Prize Winners


Independent Vision Prize

The Unspeakable Act

Director, Dan Sallitt


Special Jury Prize for Screenplay

Richard’s Wedding

Onur Tukel


Special Jury Prize for Performance

Welcome to Pine Hill – Shanon Harper

youthFEST Junior Jury Award Best Family Short Film

Private Eyes

Director, Nicoles Lemay


youthFEST Best Family Short Film Audience Award


Director, Marco Gianfreda


youthFEST Young Filmmakers Digital Showcase


Director, Gabriela Capestany.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »