Sarasota Votes For Two Commissioners On Tuesday

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 12.

Who has your vote for Sarasota City Commission?

City of Sarasota voters will head to the polls on Tuesday, March 12, to choose two commissioners in the citywide race.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., and you can find your voting precinct on SarasotaVotes.com. 

Here are your candidates:

  • Suzanne Atwell (incumbent)
  • Susan Chapman
  • Richard Dorfman
  • Linda Holland
  • Kelvin Lumpkin
  • Pete Theisen

Unlike November's election, there will be no referendum questions to decide—just the candidates.

If a candidate fails to receive the majority of votes, a runoff eleciton would occur Tuesday, May 14, between the three candidates who received the most votes.

The elected candidates take office on Friday, May 17, and will serve one four-year term.

Sarasota will have at least one new commissioner as Commissioner Terry Turner decided not to run for re-election.

For more information, visit the City of Sarasota election page.

RAJ (Bo) McMerritt March 11, 2013 at 08:43 PM
Suzanne Atwell
maire March 12, 2013 at 10:42 PM
Did not support the Ringling Walmart,but,I voted for Atwell ,she is the best candidate for city commission because she is seasoned,qualified and even handed.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »